City Council

Regular Meetings

  • 6:30 p.m.
  • 1st and 3rd Tuesday of each and every month
  • Council Chambers
    701 Fourth Street
    Yreka, CA 96097

With few exceptions as allowed by law, all Council meetings are open to the public.

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.
View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes


Joan Smith Freeman

Joan Smith Freeman

Duane Kegg, Mayor

Duane Kegg

Deborah Baird, Mayor Pro-Tempore

Deborah Baird

Corey R. Middleton

Corey R. Middleton

Paul McCoy

Council Member Paul McCoy


The City of Yreka operates under a Council/Manager form of government. The City Council, as the legislative body, represents the entire community and formulates citywide policy. Five Council Members are elected at large by City voters and serve a four-year term. The Mayor and Mayor Pro Tempore are selected from among the ranks of the Council and serve two-year terms.

The City Manager is appointed by the Council and serves as the chief executive officer, responsible for day to day administration of City affairs and implementation of Council policies. The City Attorney, also appointed by Council, advises and represents the City and Council in all legal affairs.